We no longer support this web browser. Upgrade your browser for a better experience.

Iconic Jaguar D-Type celebrated at Goodwood Revival

Iconic Jaguar D-Type celebrated at Goodwood Revival

Thirty examples of the legendary Jaguar D-Type were on show at the Goodwood Revival event, on Saturday.

The parade of Malcolm Sayer's memorable design included the former works car that won at Le Mans in 1955, driven by Mike Hawthorn and Ivor Bueb, and the ex-Ecurie Ecosse victor in 1957.

Jaguar's test driver Norman Dewis was, in 1954, the first to drive the D-Type prototype - OVC 501 and he showed his continuing enthusiasm by taking part in the parade. The car, still owned by Jaguar, was another of the D-Types present.

Many of the cars competed in a 25-minute race, held exclusively for D-types and their exotic road-going equivalents, the XKSSes.

The contest, which included Le Mans winners Derek Bell and Andy Wallace, was won by serial Goodwood victor Gary Pearson in his 1955 'long-nose' version. "One of the most beautiful cars I have driven," said Bell, who was racing a D-Type.

by: Danielle Bagnall