We no longer support this web browser. Upgrade your browser for a better experience.

Mark Webber has finally claimed his eighth Grand Prix win and helped set a new F1 record for different winners.
Bristol Street Motors

Webber finally claims win as 2012 record season continues

Webber finally claims win as 2012 record season continues

Mark Webber secured his eighth Grand Prix win in Monaco at the weekend and in doing so extended this season's record run.

The 2012 Formula One campaign has now produced six different winners from six different races, the first time in the 62-year history of the sport that this has happened.

Webber narrowly beat Mercedes ace Nic Rosberg to the chequered flag in a race that saw just 1.3 seconds separate the top four.

Rosberg was just 0.6 seconds off the pace and was followed by Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso 0.9 seconds behind the winner to complete the podium standings.

Webber's team-mate and current F1 champion Sebastian Vettel came fourth in the RenaultSport-powered Red Bull and crossed the line just 1.3 seconds after the Australian had secured the win.

Speaking after the race, Webber said it was incredible to win his second Monaco Grand Prix in only three years.

"It was a very interesting race. Reasonably straightforward at the start: getting the gap on the Supersofts, just managing it with Nico. Obviously we had a bit of a gap over the rest as well, so both of us were getting away, and it was just a matter then of trying to get back into a reasonable gap," he said.

The result means that Alonso now leads the drivers' standing by three points with a score of 76.

Vettel and Webber are tied for second with 73, while McLaren's Lewis Hamilton - who finished fifth in Monaco - is ten points further back in fourth place.

Hamilton's team-mate - Jensen Button - had a torrid afternoon in the principality getting stuck behind Caterham Renault's Heikki Kovalainen for 70-odd laps before bowing out of the race with a puncture.

The drivers will now head to North America for the Canadian Grand Prix, which will surely see one of the six drivers who have already won a race claim a second victory for the season.

Posted by Craig Salter